The short answer: Airflow beats coatings. Coil hybrids and grid tops sleep cooler than solid foam. The Purple Mattress is our first pick for hot sleepers with back pain, the Nolah Evolution and Sweetnight CoolNest Hybrid are coil options with cooling covers, and the Serta iComfort Elana is the coolest foam choice for stomach and back sleepers.
Top cooling picks
- 1Purple Mattress (Original)Best cooling mattress for back pain
- 2Helix Midnight LuxeBest cooling cover on a zoned hybrid
- 3Leesa Sapira Hybrid (11 in)Best ventilated foam hybrid
- 4Nolah Evolution Hybrid (Luxury Firm)Best premium cooling hybrid
- 5Nectar Premier Hybrid (13 in)Best cooler memory foam
- 6Sweetnight CoolNest Hybrid (14 in)Best mid-priced cooling hybrid
- 7Casper Original HybridBest zoned option for hot sleepers
- 8Serta iComfort Elana (Firm, 11.5 in)Best cooling foam bed
- 9Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Adapt + Cooling Topper (3 in)Cooling topper option
What actually keeps a bed cool
- Airflow through the core. Coil layers let warm air escape. Solid foam does not.
- An open top layer. Purple's grid, or perforated latex, moves air at the surface.
- Cover fabric. Cool-to-the-touch fabrics feel cool when you lie down; the effect fades as they warm. Useful, but limited.
- Foam additives. Gel, graphite, copper and phase-change materials can draw heat away for a while. They help, but a foam bed with additives is still a foam bed.
Bedding matters too: cotton or linen sheets, a lighter duvet, and a cooler room do as much as any mattress.
Purple Mattress (Original) (Queen)
The grid bed: a rubbery polymer lattice that collapses under the shoulder and hip but pushes back under the waist.
Why it is here: The grid is open, so air moves through it. Medium-firm by the maker's scale.
- Sold by the maker's own Amazon store
Scale: maker's number.
- Side sleepers
- Back sleepers
- Stomach sleepers
- Combination sleepers
- Build
- Foam bed with a 2 in GelFlex Grid on top, about 9.25–11 in overall
- Trial
- Not stated on listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on listing
- Sold by
- Purple Innovation (the maker)
- Price band
- Upper
Good fit if
Foam traps heat for you, and you want pressure relief that does not feel like sinking.Look elsewhere if
You dislike unusual textures; some people never get used to the grid.Other versions: Full

Helix Midnight Luxe (Queen, GlacioTex)
The bed many other back-pain lists rank first, now sold on Amazon: a 6-out-of-10 hybrid with a zoned lumbar section and a soft Euro top.
Why it is here: The GlacioTex version swaps the TENCEL pillow top for a cool-to-the-touch cover on the same zoned hybrid. Coils underneath do more for heat than any fabric, and this bed has both.
- Sold by the maker's own Amazon store
- 365-night trial, per the bullets
- Limited lifetime warranty
- Zoned support
Scale: maker's number.
- Side sleepers
- Back sleepers
- Stomach sleepers
- Combination sleepers
- Zoned support
- Build
- Hybrid, 13.5 in, pocketed coils with a zoned lumbar section, three foam layers under a TENCEL Euro top
- Trial
- 365 nights per the bullets (spec table says 120; confirm before ordering)
- Warranty
- Limited lifetime
- Sold by
- 3Z Brands (the maker's Amazon storefront)
- Zoning
- Targeted zoned lumbar support in the coil layer (maker's wording)
- Price band
- Premium
Good fit if
You sleep on your side or roll between side and back, your lower back aches by morning, and you want a cushioned top without the middle sagging.Look elsewhere if
You sleep on your stomach or weigh well over 230 lb; a 6 is too soft for that. Also skip it if a tight budget matters more than the extras.Other versions: King; Cal King; Full; Queen, GlacioTex cooling cover; King, GlacioTex cooling cover

Leesa Sapira Hybrid (11 in) (Queen)
Leesa's premium hybrid: a 5-to-7 medium-firm with ventilated foam over more than a thousand pocketed springs.
Why it is here: Leesa's GreenFlex foam is open-cell with ventilation channels, under a cool-knit cover and over pocketed springs: three separate routes for heat to escape.
- Sold by the maker's own Amazon store
- 365-night trial, per the bullets
- Limited lifetime warranty, per the bullets
- Fiberglass-free
Scale: maker's number.
- Side sleepers
- Back sleepers
- Stomach sleepers
- Combination sleepers
- Build
- Hybrid, 11 in, up to 1,032 pocketed springs, memory foam over ventilated GreenFlex foam, cool-knit cover
- Trial
- 365 nights per the bullets (spec table says 120; confirm before ordering)
- Warranty
- Limited lifetime per the bullets (a spec field says 15-year limited)
- Sold by
- 3Z Brands (the maker's Amazon storefront)
- Price band
- Upper
Good fit if
You sleep on your back or switch to your side, run warm on all-foam beds, and share the bed with someone who moves a lot.Look elsewhere if
You sleep on your stomach and need firm, or you want one clear trial and warranty figure before you pay.
Nolah Evolution Hybrid (Luxury Firm) (Queen)
A tall, zoned-coil hybrid; the Luxury Firm version is the one for back pain, the Plush one for side-sleeping hips.
Why it is here: Graphite-infused foam, a breathable border and 8-inch coils with a lumbar zone.
- Sold by the maker's own Amazon store
- Zoned support
Scale: our reading of the maker's label.
- Side sleepers
- Back sleepers
- Stomach sleepers
- Combination sleepers
- Zoned support
- Build
- Hybrid, about 14–15 in, 8 in HDMax Tri-Zone coils with a lumbar zone, Euro topper
- Trial
- Not stated on listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on listing
- Sold by
- 3Z Brands (the maker's Amazon storefront)
- Zoning
- Three coil zones, including a lumbar region (maker's wording)
- Price band
- Premium
Good fit if
Your lower back is the problem and you want a coil unit built with a firmer middle section.Look elsewhere if
You want the trial and warranty spelled out before buying; the Amazon listing leaves them out.Other versions: Queen, Plush with cooling pillow top; Queen, Comfort Plus

Nectar Premier Hybrid (13 in) (Queen)
The Premier's memory foam on a coil base: more bounce, firmer edges and more airflow than the all-foam version.
Why it is here: Nectar claims more cooling than its Classic from extra cooling fibers in the cover, and the coil layer lets heat escape in a way all-foam cannot. We cannot verify the cover claim; the coils are the part we would rely on.
- Sold and shipped by Amazon.com
- 365-night home trial
- Forever warranty (as listed)
- Rated to 800 lb
Scale: our reading of the maker's label.
- Side sleepers
- Back sleepers
- Stomach sleepers
- Combination sleepers
- Build
- Hybrid, 13 in, 792 pocketed coils (queen) under contouring memory foam and a cooling cover
- Trial
- 365 nights
- Warranty
- Listed as a Forever Warranty
- Sold by
- Amazon.com
- Weight
- 800 lb listed limit
- Price band
- Upper
Good fit if
You want memory-foam pressure relief but run warm, share the bed, or sit on the edge to dress.Look elsewhere if
You want firm. The queen listing calls it medium, a shade softer than the all-foam Premier.Other versions: Full (older listing)

Sweetnight CoolNest Hybrid (14 in) (Queen)
A cooling-focused hybrid with a two-layer pillow top, priced under the big online brands.
Why it is here: Cool-feel cover, phase-change foam, and a coil layer for airflow.
- Sold and shipped by Amazon.com
- Fiberglass-free
Scale: our reading of the maker's label.
- Side sleepers
- Back sleepers
- Stomach sleepers
- Combination sleepers
- Build
- Hybrid, 14 in, 600 wrapped coils (queen), gel memory-foam pillow top, foam edge
- Trial
- Not stated on listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on listing
- Sold by
- Amazon.com
- Price band
- Mid-range
Good fit if
You sleep hot, share the bed, and want a medium-firm hybrid without a brand-name price.Look elsewhere if
You want written trial terms; the listing did not give a length.Other versions: King

Casper Original Hybrid (Queen)
A medium hybrid whose main idea is zoning: softer at the shoulders, firmer under the waist and lower back.
Why it is here: Open-cell foam over coils, plus zoning for the lower back.
- Sold and shipped by Amazon.com
- 100-night home trial
- 10-year warranty
- Zoned support
Scale: our reading of the maker's label.
- Side sleepers
- Back sleepers
- Stomach sleepers
- Combination sleepers
- Zoned support
- Build
- Hybrid, 11 in, zoned foam with encased coils
- Trial
- 100 nights
- Warranty
- 10 years (limited)
- Sold by
- Amazon.com
- Zoning
- Firmer foam under hips, waist and lower back; softer at the shoulders (maker's wording)
- Price band
- Upper
Good fit if
You sleep on your side and your back in the same night and your lower back is the part that hurts.Look elsewhere if
You need a firm bed; the overall feel is medium.
Serta iComfort Elana (Firm, 11.5 in) (Queen)
A firm, zoned memory-foam bed that Serta itself pitches at stomach and back sleepers.
Why it is here: CoolFeel fabric and graphite-infused memory foam, firm, five-zone.
- Sold and shipped by Amazon.com
- 100-night home trial
- 10-year warranty
- Zoned support
Scale: our reading of the maker's label.
- Side sleepers
- Back sleepers
- Stomach sleepers
- Combination sleepers
- Zoned support
- Build
- All-foam, 11.5 in, graphite-infused memory foam, 5 ZoneResponse design
- Trial
- 100 nights
- Warranty
- 10 years (limited)
- Sold by
- Amazon.com
- Zoning
- 5 ZoneResponse design (maker's wording)
- Price band
- Upper
Good fit if
You sleep on your stomach or back, want foam rather than coils, and like a cool-touch cover.Look elsewhere if
You want it to feel right on night one; Serta says to allow up to 60 days to adjust.
Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Adapt + Cooling Topper (3 in)
Tempur-Pedic's softer topper, for taking the edge off a bed that is too hard.
Why it is here: A washable cool-touch cover over soft TEMPUR material, if your current bed is hard and warm.
- Sold and shipped by Amazon.com
Scale: our reading of the maker's label.
- Build
- 3 in TEMPUR-ES material, washable cool-to-the-touch cover
- Trial
- Not stated on listing
- Warranty
- Limited warranty (see listing)
- Sold by
- Amazon.com
- Price band
- Mid-range
Good fit if
Your mattress is supportive but too firm at the shoulder and hip.Look elsewhere if
Your mattress sags. A soft topper on a sagging bed makes the dip worse.
How the cooling mattresses picks line up
| Model | Firmness | Build | Zoned | Trial | Warranty | Sold by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Purple Mattress (Original) | 6–7/10 | Foam bed with a 2 in GelFlex Grid on top 10 in | No | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Purple Innovation |
| Helix Midnight Luxe | 6/10 | Hybrid 13.5 in | Yes | 365 nights per the bullets (spec table says 120; confirm before ordering) | Limited lifetime | 3Z Brands |
| Leesa Sapira Hybrid (11 in) | 5–7/10 | Hybrid 11 in | No | 365 nights per the bullets (spec table says 120; confirm before ordering) | Limited lifetime per the bullets (a spec field says 15-year limited) | 3Z Brands |
| Nolah Evolution Hybrid (Luxury Firm) | 7–8/10 | Hybrid 14 in | Yes | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | 3Z Brands |
| Nectar Premier Hybrid (13 in) | 5–6/10 | Hybrid 13 in | No | 365 nights | Listed as a Forever Warranty | Amazon.com |
| Sweetnight CoolNest Hybrid (14 in) | 6–7/10 | Hybrid 14 in | No | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Amazon.com |
| Casper Original Hybrid | 5–6/10 | Hybrid 11 in | Yes | 100 nights | 10 years (limited) | Amazon.com |
| Serta iComfort Elana (Firm, 11.5 in) | 7–8/10 | All-foam 11.5 in | Yes | 100 nights | 10 years (limited) | Amazon.com |
| Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Adapt + Cooling Topper (3 in) | 4–5/10 | 3 in TEMPUR-ES material | No | Not stated on listing | Limited warranty (see listing) | Amazon.com |
"Not stated on listing" means the Amazon page we read did not say. Ask the seller before you rely on it.
Related: best hybrid mattress for back pain and Purple vs Casper.
Before you order: reader questions
What type of mattress sleeps coolest?
Hybrids with pocketed coils and open-top designs such as Purple's grid usually sleep cooler than all-foam beds.
Do cooling covers work?
They feel cool at first and help a little through the night. Airflow through the bed matters more.
We write about mattresses, not diagnoses. Numbness, leg weakness, bladder or bowel changes, or pain after a fall are reasons to see a doctor, not reasons to shop. Full disclaimer.